Tags

, , , , , , , ,

New DoctorSpouses post is up.

Well, I was worried about being lonely for five weeks, but now that I’ve put travel and visits and everything on a calendar, I’m not sure I’ll even have time to get any projects around the house done!

There are two days “alone” when P. first leaves and then it’s non-stop action until he gets home except for five days “alone” at about the 2/3 mark.  I say “alone” with quotation marks because those will also be jam-packed with all the other plans with friends that haven’t yet been officially scheduled.

So the bedroom will get painted (my aunt offered to come and help) but I don’t think any other projects will really get finished.

It’s a nice problem to have.

This experience of P. leaving for boot camp has really made me aware and grateful of how awesome our friends are.  It helps that med school ended up being approximately an hour from our college, so we are thankful for that too.

But even if our college friends weren’t nearby, I’m confident my schedule would be nearly as full.  There is a real camaraderie among the medical students and the spouses.  It makes sense; we’re all in this crazy, stressful experience, unlike anything else in the world, together.  And it’s brought out the best in people.  (And also brought out a lot of beer, but that’s beside the point.)

We/I’ve had so many offers for things like babysitting, walking the dog, driving us to the airport, picking us up from the train station, going out to lunch, the park, and so on.

Read more here.

