Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Hello. I’m The Husband. I’m 1/8 (or so) of a medical doctor. I’m also a Second Lieutenant in the United States Air Force.

It’s been roughly 18 weeks or so since I posted anything here, so here are some updated musings about this adventure.

I’ve completed four courses gross anatomy, biochemistry, population medicine, and genetics. Next up, histology, embryology, and physiology!

I’ve learned how to take a medical history and do blood pressure. In theory, I know how to do a knee exam, shoulder exam, breast exam, chest and abdominal exam. I say “in theory” because I’ve only practiced those once, on a standardized patient.

I’ve learned how to screen for alcoholism and counsel a patient to quit smoking.

I’ve been alone in a laboratory with 38 dead bodies.

I’ve sawed through a skull and cut open a rectum. I’ve cleaned out feces that’s been inside a cadaver for months. Note: The smell does not improve with age, and rectum dissection day was EASILY the worst day of medical school.

I’ve felt like a genius and a moron. (I think The Kate is going to post about why I felt like a moron.) [ETA 12/12: Story here. ~Kate]

I’ve held what used to be someone’s heart in my hands.

I’ve seen the blackness that covers lungs after a lifetime of smoking.

I’ve participated in cancer surgery and removed moles from a patient’s back.

I’ve visited a man whose been in the hospital for over 8 months, waiting for a heart transplant. Despite his predicament, he was in pretty good spirits, surprisingly.

I’ve given injections of saline to oranges. Despite my best efforts, the orange didn’t make it.

I’ve been told by multiple doctors that if I had any brains, I’d have gone into dentistry.

I’ve learned the difference between empathy and sympathy.

I’ve met plenty of people I would never want as my doctor.

I’ve got a touch of medical student syndrome (where when you become exposed to new diseases, you think you have them). My finger started hurting, so I diagnosed it with some sort of median nerve issue. Nope, it was just tendonitis caused by the anatomy dissection. That’s why you don’t want an M1 to do diagnoses.

Next semester, we actually work with patients. My preceptorship is at http://www.crossoverministry.org/. Should be interesting.

Before I started medical school, I heard that the other students studied 9 or more hours a day. I thought, I wouldn’t have to do that since I’m so much smarter than they are.

God, I was an idiot.

Medical school is like a cave of studying. The sheer volume of material that we get hit with is whelming. I feel like I go into my cave, then emerge hours late to see my wife and son for a bit. Then, I re-enter the cave.

In moments here and there, I’ve missed some of our friends from NH. To any of them who are reading this, we’ll be up around Christmastime. Give us a shout if you want to get together. (Brad & Jenny, Steve and Karen, Bob and Lauren, Mike and Val, Justin, Deb and Will, Diane & Dave, Evan and Carolyn (BTW, congrats to you two!)).

Exercise has pretty much gone out the window, though I manage to get a run in here and there. I’m on a three week break (THANK GOD), so I hope to get that party going again. I’m going hiking on Tuesday, so I’m excited about that.

Yesterday was our last anatomy exam before the break. I suppose I should be jubilant, but mostly, I’m just tired. Sometimes, I stop and wonder a) how I ended up here and b) why they let me in.

I had a good job that paid well and had every other Friday off, and I left it, moved my entire family, joined the military, and started med school.

I haven’t regretted it for a second.

