Today was the white coat ceremony. It’s where I officially become a student at MCV and they give you a white coat to mark you as being on the road to being a physician. Katy, the baby, and my folks all were there, and my parents got me a nice stethoscope.  (It doesn’t have a bell; you just press down harder to hear more frequencies. I’m excited).

The ceremony felt like a graduation, even though we haven’t done anything yet. Though, getting into medical school is really friggin’ hard, IMO.

Also in my opinion, the most important part of the ceremony though was the oath, which I will present without comment:

I do solemnly swear by what which I hold most sacred:

  • that I will be loyal to the profession of medicine and just and generous to its members;
  • that I will lead my life and practice my art in uprightness and honor;
  • that into whatsoever house I shall enter it shall be for the good of the sick to the utmost of my power;
  • that I will hold myself aloof from wrong, from corruptions, from the tempting of others to vice;
  • that I will exercise my art solely for the cure of my patients and will give no drug, perform no operation for a criminal purpose even if solicited far less suggest it;
  • that whatsoever I shall see or hear of the lives of men and women which is not fitting to be spoken, I will keep inviolably secret.

These things I promise, and in proportions as I am faithful to this my oath, may happiness and good repute be ever mine, the opposite if I shall be forsworn.

Classes begin Monday. Not for the first time, I wonder what I’ve gotten myself into.

