A few of my disjointed thoughts since I started orientation:

  • I have yet to meet anyone older than I am, though the oldest person is allegedly 34. The mean age of my class is 24.3. The youngest person starting it is 17. It’s a bit strange to be the oldest person around when I was one of the youngest at my former company.
  • Today, doing some team building exercises, we had to cross “Snot River.” I would like to know what kind of creature produces that much mucus.
  • My class is very diverse, so much so that I am having a hard time keeping up with the names of everyone I meet. I’ve started relying on mnemonics to remember them, and it’s only day 3.
  • I have yet to meet anyone from New England. When the electrician called us about some work his company messed up on, I could not understand a single word he said.
  • I met someone who was admitted to the school on Saturday, and she was told she had to be here on Monday. How awesome/stressful is that.
  • During team-building exercises, do not mention that you are fast unless you want to be made to run a lot.
  • Our cat Parsley has yet to move downstairs. Since arrival, he just stays up in the 100+ degree heat of the upstairs and sulks.
  • Seems like everyone wants to go into either peds or trauma surgery. The trauma surgery part reminds me of that quote from Mad Men: “Not every little girl gets to do what they want. The world could not support that many ballerinas.”
  • I met one other person who is going through the Air Force. She was a graduate of the Academy.
  • Somebody sitting around me on Tuesday morning REEKED of booze. I don’t see that as a good sign.
  • I have yet to meet anyone else who lives in southside. When I explain that it’s across the river (Richmond = the river city, with at least 4 bridges across a river 2x the size of the Merrimack), I have been asked, “There’s a river?”
  • So FREAKIN’ HUMID. Based on how long the (uphill) walk takes from my car, I pretty much expect to be sweaty by the time I get anywhere.
  • I thought I was done with corporate training videos for a while. I thought wrong.
  • I have seen more people in bow ties than anyplace else on the planet.
  • We did a team building exercise where we had to run across numbered blocks in order. At first, we didn’t know what to do, and the guy in the center was unsure of how to do this. I shouted “Dig them up!” and the dude started trying to dig up the blocks with his hands. Our facilitator said she had never seen anyone try to do that before. He was not happy with me after that.
