Tags

, , ,

Since I have only a few days left of work, I have been wearing sandals a great deal to work–much more so than I normally do. I figure that once med school starts I won’t be able to wear them to see patients or while doing anatomy lab.

Today, one of my coworkers noticed that I wasn’t wearing socks. This coworker also is a retired colonel from the Air Force, and he wrote me a really strong letter of recommendation that I think helped a great deal in getting the AF HPSP scholarship. I’ve been keeping him informed about the whole process of joining the USAF.

So, as I was standing in the hallway, I hear this sound.

“WHAT THE FUCK ARE YOU DOING LIEUTENANT?” He roared. “YOU DON’T HAVE ANY SOCKS ON!!”

Stunned, I stuttered something out after a minute.

“My apologies, Colonel,” I said.

“Carry on,” he replied and walked off.

I learned my lesson though. Tomorrow, I will wear socks with my sandals.

