Tags

, , ,

“Maybe, just once, someone will call me ‘Sir’ without adding, ‘You’re making a scene.'” — Homer Simpson

After my commissioning, I asked my recruiter for some Air Force Health Professions gear. He gave me shirts, golf balls, a reflex hammer, water bottles, and a backpack.  As the Kate and I were coming down Mt. Washington, we passed two guys and one of them saw her Air Force backpack.

“Hey, are you in the Air Force?” one asked.

“No, but my husband just joined,” she replied.

“That guy?” the other one asked.  (By that, I think he meant, that skinny goon with the longish hair).

“I’m in too,” he added. “What are you going to do in the Air Force?”

“I’m going to be a doctor for them,” I said.

“Wow, that’s great!” he gushed. Then, I think some realization hit him. He added one other word.

“Sir.”

It was awesome. I’m trying to get everyone to call me sir now. I think I’ll start with getting the Kate to go along with it. She said she’d call me “Sir” if I called her “Ma’am” and also “General.”

